Skip to content ↓

early years foundation stage

At Leasowes Primary School, we greatly value the importance of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in providing a secure foundation for future learning and development.  We aim to ensure that each child has a happy and positive start to their school life in which they can build a foundation for a love of learning.

It is based on 4 overarching principles:

  • A Unique Child — At Leasowes we believe that every child is unique and this is reflected in our planning, provision and assessments. A learning journal is kept for each child, in which we keep examples of children's work, along with any adult observations.
  • Enabling Environments — We want every child to feel happy, safe and secure at school and 'ready to learn'. We do this by creating a stimulating, purposeful, fun educational environment where children can learn through play, exploration and adult interactions to become a resilient and independent learner. 
  • Learning and Development (see more information below)
  • Positive Relationships — As your child's first educators, the role of the parent is paramount to the successful implementation of the EYFS Curriculum. We want you to be involved at every stage of your child's learning journey and have a wide range of opportunities for parental involvement throughout the EYFS. 

During their time in the EYFS, children’s learning activities and experiences are underpinned by the seven areas of learning and development set out in the EYFS Statutory Framework. All seven areas are important and inter-connected. There are three prime areas of learning which are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• Communication and Language

• Physical Development

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are four further specific areas of learning, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These specific areas are:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the World

• Expressive Arts and Design

A greater focus on teaching specific skills will occur as your child progresses through their reception year, which will help them to prepare for year one.

Curriculum Information: 

Reception is delivered through a careful balance of adult led and child led learning. It incorporates everything we want the children to experience, learn and be able to do. Our curriculum meets all the requirements of the educational programmes in the EYFS statutory framework and has the flexibility to quickly respond to children's interests and needs. 

Throughout the Reception Year, your child will take part in an ambitious curriculum which is designed in a progressive way to ensure progress towards our end of year curricular goals. You can download the reception curriculum overview and goals below. 

Each term, we will update our webpage with information about what your child will be learning in Reception. We will also send you a Newsletter every few weeks to share our memorable experiences and the children's learning with you.


If you wish to speak to the class teacher please do not hesitate to speak to a staff member on the door at the beginning or the end of the school day or by telephoning the school office to make an appointment.