Skip to content ↓


At Leasowes Primary School, we greatly value the importance of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in providing a secure foundation for future learning and development.  We aim to ensure that  each child has a happy and positive start to their school life in which they can build a foundation for a love of learning.

We seek to provide:

  • Quality and consistency, so that every child makes good progress and all children are given the same opportunity to improve on their learning.
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each child and are assessed and reviewed regularly.
  • Partnership working between practitioners and parents.
  • Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.

The EYFS consists of two Reception classes each with a cohort of 30 children. There is a team to two Reception class teachers and two full time teaching assistants. We also work closely with the Nursery staff in Leasowes Extra.

 The EYFS phase leader is: Mrs Bromley

We follow the EYFS curriculum which consists of seven areas of learning:

The ‘Prime’ areas of learning and development are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The ‘Specific’ areas of learning and development are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Below you will find further information about the EYFS curriculum and how it is delivered at Leasowes.